Blood boiler

and no I don’t mean the Alp d’Huez (that was a pretty great race by Carlos Sastre though).

The gang's all here

The Fannie Mae Gang [WSJ]

Supports my contention that one man, an Orange man, brought down not only his two houses, but that of two of his neighbors as well.

“Angelo Mozilo was in one of his Napoleonic moods. It was October 2003, and the CEO of Countrywide Financial was berating me for The Wall Street Journal’s editorials raising doubts about the accounting of Fannie Mae. I had just been introduced to him by Franklin Raines, then the CEO of Fannie, whom I had run into by chance at a reception hosted by the Business Council, the CEO group that had invited me to moderate a couple of panels.

“Mr. Mozilo loudly declared that I didn’t know what I was talking about, that I didn’t understand accounting or the mortgage markets, and that I was in the pocket of Fannie’s competitors, among other insults. Mr. Raines, always smoother than Mr. Mozilo, politely intervened to avoid an extended argument, and Countrywide’s bantam rooster strutted off.”

Mozilo a short arse? That explains so much.


“My position was (and, to be honest, largely remains) one of complete ambiguity.”

Leave a Reply

